We will assist you

Dr. Iris Ernst and her team of seasoned experts take care of you.

 


Dr. med. Ralph Lehrke is our specialist for diseases of the head and the spinal cord.

Get more information

Our Partners

  • University Hospital Muenster
    Dep. of Radiotherapy and Radiation Oncology
  • Interdisciplinary Group Practice
    at Health Centre Soest
    (Radiology – Nuclear medicine - Radiotherapy)

more information

What is the CyberKnife® system?

The robot-assisted CyberKnife® radiosurgery system is a tried-and-tested alternative to the operative treatment of tumors in all body regions.

read more

Soest - tomorrow’s technology in a historical place

For your stay during CyberKnife® treatment, the city of Soest offers patients and their families an historic setting and an attractive recreational landscape that also boasts perfect transport connections.

Many impressive buildings, including, for example, “Wiesenkirche”, one of Germany’s most beautiful late Gothic hall churches (1313), bear witness to more prosperous Hanseatic times when Soest—the “secret capital city of Westphalia”—was one of the state's most important towns. In the heart of the city centre, the mighty Roman St. Patrokli tower—also known as the tower of Westphalia—reigns over the town, dwarfing the famous 12th century Nikolai Chapel just a few steps away. Only the pedestrian area separates St. Patrokli from St. Petri, the “Alden Kerke”, one of Westphalia’s oldest churches dating back to the 8th century.

The people of Soest are extremely proud of their almost completely intact city wall. Even today, you can walk on the old wall around the city and see the green gardens of the old town. And do not forget to pay a visit to “Osthofentor”. This is the last of the town’s former ten gates. A walk along the ramparts and moats, the latter also called “Gräften”, is an experience not to be missed, but is best enjoyed during the spring blossom or—for collectors and bargain hunters—when the regions’ biggest flea market that attracts 40,000 visitors meanders through the “Gräften”.

The people of Soest definitively know how to preserve their heritage and to bring it to new life. Private initiatives work hand in hand with public institutions to achieve outstanding success: sandstone-churches and half-timbered houses are lovingly restored, historic buildings are given a new purpose and the town is constantly undergoing regeneration. Over 600 buildings are listed. Soon the “Soestbach” will once again be surrounded by parks, streets with half-timbered buildings and cobblestone pavements to form another highlight of the old town.

Soest also offers a host of different cultural attractions. From A to Z, from “Altstadtfieber” to “Zappelparty”, there is something there for everybody to enjoy.

Thanks to “Bürgerzentrum Alter Schlachthof” and “Veranstaltungs Centrum Stadthalle Soest” all kinds of music and theatre performances are on offer. Meanwhile, the city is also frequently visited by top German comedians. What’s more, Soest offers a range of major annual events, such as “Soester Kneipen Festival”—the Soest Pub Festival—in March (please note, this event is quickly sold out!), “Bördetag” in May, “Sommerliche Musiktage”—Summer Music Days—or “Allerheiligenkirmes”—the Halloween Funfair in November. The latter has been acclaimed Europe’s largest inner-city funfair and is therefore a true mega event: five days of true fun with more than one million visitors on 60,000 sqm of fairground—an atmosphere comparable to Cologne’s Carnival celebrations.

Several museums (“Burghofmuseum”, “Osthofentormuseum”, “Feuerwehrmuseum”, Museum der belgischen Streitkräfte in Deutschland”, “Technikmuseum” as well as “Wilhelm-Morgner-Haus”) are open to visitors. Soest also played an important role in the lives of some famous painters, such as Heinrich Aldegrever, Otto Modersohn, Wilhelm Morgner, Christian Rohlfs and Hans Kaiser.

What is a concert or visit to the theatre without dropping into an inviting restaurant or cosy pub afterwards? No problem in Soest—we have everything from historical inns to rustic music pubs or international specialty restaurants. For instance, “Pilgrimhaus”, Westphalia’s oldest inn, where guests have been excellently served since 1304.

Beside our numerous restaurants and churches you can also shop to your heart’s content in the historical old town. From hot deals to luxury articles, you can walk everywhere. A fact enjoyed not just by the town’s 50,000 inhabitants, but also by the 180,000 inhabitants living in the greater Soest area.

For those living in Soest, sports, leisure and nearby recreational areas are what make life so enjoyable here. Mountain biking at “Naturpark Arnsberger Wald”, sailing on “Möhnesee”, golf, tennis, riding, paragliding as well as parachuting: all of these activities are just 15 minutes away by car.

By the way, living in Soest is always affordable. Depending on taste, you can choose from a new modern style development area or the attractive medieval setting of the old town district. Besides, as a district capital, Soest is home to many transregional authorities.

Deutsches CyberKnife-Zentrum

in Kooperation mit der Klinik für Strahlentherapie-Radioonkologie
des Universitätsklinikums Münster


Direktor:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. med.
Hans T. Eich


Leitende Ärztin:
Dr. med. Iris Ernst



Leitender Physiker:
PD Dr. rer. medic.
Uwe Haverkamp


Speziell bei Erkrankungen von Kopf und Rückenmark
behandelt Sie
Dr. med. Ralph Lehrke

Unser Team

Soest – Zukunftstechnologie an historischem Ort

Für den Aufenthalt während einer CyberKnife-Behandlung bietet die Stadt Soest Patienten und ihren Angehörigen ein historisch interessantes Ambiente und ein landschaftlich reizvolles Erholungsgebiet, das dennoch über beste Verkehrsanbindungen verfügt.

Dass die „heimliche Hauptstadt Westfalens“ zur Zeit der Hanse zu den wichtigsten Städten Westfalens gehörte, lässt sich an einer Reihe von imposanten Bauwerken ablesen, z. B. an der Wiesenkirche, die zu den schönsten spätgotischen Hallenkirchen (1313) Deutschlands zählt. Im Zentrum der Innenstadt erhebt sich der mächtige romanische Turm von St. Patrokli, auch „Turm Westfalens“ genannt. Fast geduckt wirkt ein paar Schritte weiter die berühmte Nikolaikapelle aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. Nur die Fußgängerzone trennt St. Patrokli von St. Petri , der „Alden Kerke“. Hierbei handelt es sich um die älteste Kirchengründung Westfalens aus dem 8. Jahrhundert.

Besonders stolz sind die Soester auf ihre fast vollständig erhaltene Stadtumwallung. Noch heute kann man auf der alten Mauer zu Fuß die Stadt umrunden und einen Blick in die grünen Gärten der Altstadt werfen. Dabei sollte man auch nicht vergessen, dem Osthofentor einen Besuch abzustatten. Dies ist das letzte erhaltene von ursprünglich zehn Stadttoren. Ein Gang über die Wälle oder durch die Gräften ist immer ein Erlebnis, besonders jedoch zur Zeit der Baumblüte im Frühjahr oder – für Sammler- und Schnäppchenjäger – wenn sich der größte Trödelmarkt der Region  und rund 40.000 Besucher durch die Gräften schlängeln.

Die Soester Bürger wissen ihr Erbe behutsam zu wahren  und mit neuem Leben zu erfüllen. Da greifen private Initiative und öffentliche Hand ineinander und leisten gemeinsam Vorbildliches: die liebevolle Restaurierung von Grünsandsteinkirchen und Fachwerkhäusern, die Nutzung von historischen Gebäuden zu neuen Zwecken oder die behutsame Stadterneuerung. Insgesamt stehen an die 600 Gebäude unter Denkmalschutz. Und in absehbarer Zeit wird auch der Soestbach wieder eingerahmt von Grünanlagen, Fachwerkzeilen und Kopfsteinpflaster ein weiterer Blickfang in der Altstadt sein.

Umfangreich und vielfältig gestaltet sich auch das kulturelle Leben in Soest. Von A-Z, von Altstadtfieber bis Zappelparty, ist für fast jeden etwas im Angebot.

Dank Bürgerzentrum „Alter Schlachthof“ und „Veranstaltungs Centrum Stadthalle Soest“ gibt es kaum noch Musik- und Theatersparten, die nicht abgedeckt wären und deutsche Spitzen-Comedians geben sich inzwischen hier die Klinke in die Hand. Darüber hinaus bietet die Stadt natürlich auch eine Reihe von jährlich wiederkehrenden Großveranstaltungen, wie z. B. das Soester Kneipen Festival im März (Achtung: ist immer schnell ausverkauft!), den Bördetag im Mai, die Sommerlichen Musiktage oder die Allerheiligenkirmes im November. Letztere darf sich größte Innenstadtkirmes Europas nennen und ist somit ein echtes „Mega-Event“: Fünf Tage Ausnahmezustand auf 60.000qm Stellfläche, eine Stimmung wie in Köln beim Karneval und rund 1 Million Besucher.

Mehrere Museen (Burghofmuseum, Osthofentormuseum, Feuerwehrmuseum, Museum der belgischen Streitkräfte in Deutschland, Technikmuseum sowie das Wilhelm-Morgner-Haus) laden zum Besuch ein. Im Leben einiger bekannter Maler wie Conrad von Soest, Heinrich Aldegrever, Otto Modersohn, Wilhelm Morgner, Christian Rohlfs und Hans Kaiser hat Soest eine wichtige Rolle gespielt.

Und was wäre ein Konzert- oder Theaterbesuch ohne den anschließenden Besuch eines gemütlichen Restaurants oder einer zünftigen Kneipe? In Soest kein Problem - egal ob historisches Gasthaus, urige Musikkneipe oder internationales Spezialitäten-Restaurant. Im Pilgrimhaus, dem ältesten Gasthof Westfalens, werden schließlich schon seit dem Jahr 1304 Gäste vorzüglich bewirtet.

Zwischen Küchen und Kirchen gibt es darüber hinaus noch ausreichend Gelegenheit zum gemütlichen Einkaufsbummel inmitten der historischen Altstadt. Vom Sonderangebot bis zum Luxusartikel erreicht man alles prima zu Fuß. Das wissen nicht nur die inzwischen rund 50.000 Einwohner der Kreisstadt zu schätzen, da zum Einzugsbereich der Stadt Soest insgesamt 180.000 Menschen zählen.

Sport, Freizeit und Naherholung sind für die Menschen in Soest ein gutes Stück Lebensqualität. Mountainbiking im Naturpark Arnsberger Wald, Segeln auf dem Möhnesee, Golf, Tennis, Reiten, Segelfliegen, Fallschirmspringen. Alles zu erreichen in rund 15 Autominuten. Wohnen in Soest ist übrigens immer erschwinglich – je nach Geschmack: ganz modern in einem der schmucken Neubaugebiete oder ebenso attraktiv im Zentrum der Altstadt vor mittelalterlicher Kulisse. Als Kreisstadt ist Soest zudem Sitz von vielen überregional agierenden Behörden.

 Mehr über...
Soest, Geschichte, Lebensstil,